Euro T20 Slam – The Confirmed News about New European Cricket League

An idea of a European Cricket League was put forward years ago and you as a cricket lover wouldn’t believe that it is finally going to happen. Yes, the news is absolutely confirmed that a European cricket league will be played between nations including Scotland, Netherlands, and Ireland. The league will be called Euro T20 Slam and even bigger news is that it is going to happen this year.

The inauguration date of Euro T20 Slam will be between 22nd and 30th August. The better sources believe that the league will inaugurate on 30th August 2019. This brand new event called Euro T20 Slam will be hosted by Netherlands, Ireland, and Scotland.

As far as the teams are concerned, there will be a total of six teams and they will be franchise-based. Also, two teams from each nation will take part in the tournament and of course, the squads will consist of both domestic and international or overseas players.

According to the rules as put forward by the sources, there will be at least 9 domestic players in the squad of 16 and the rest (7) will be overseas players. As for the playing 11, a minimum of 6 players will be added to the team while a limit of maximum 5 players is for the overseas quota.

The tournament’s format is going to be simple where all teams shall be played 33 matches against each other and 4 teams will reach to the play-offs round. It is no different than leagues like PSL and IPL where the same format of cricket is being followed.

The establishment of a new cricket league was confirmed by the Chairman of Ireland Cricket Board, Warren Deutrom. He is the man who has played a major role in buying the test cap for Irish team and now the Euro T20 Slam as well. His words were:

“The process wasn’t just about establishing a mere name, but rather giving the tournament an identity which both aligned it with other global domestic leagues, yet made it a distinctive and a vibrant brand.”

The news was also confirmed from Mumbai in the latest headlines of Mumbai Mirror. The headline stated the official name of the league ‘Euro T20 Slam’ and also confirmed that the league will be played amongst nations including Ireland, Scotland, and the Netherlands.

The name of the tournament was also reached to an agreement by the mutual consensus of the chairmen of all three boards. The event will be taking place from 30th August to 22nd September 2019. This means that this will be a long 23-day event of exciting cricket.

So far what we know about the tournament are things which are pretty formal. The started date is 22nd August, there will be six teams in the league, each squad will have 16 players, and all matches will be hosted in different stadiums from the three nations.

If you are looking forward to the name of teams, squad lists, Euro T20 Slam drafts, schedule, and other related information, make sure that you keep visiting our website for all of these updates.

Updated: May 28, 2019 — 8:40 am

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *